The Paleo Diet…

I started on the “Paleo Diet” yesterday. Well, it’s not so much of a “diet.” Basically, you eat lots of protein, fruit, vegetables/greens and nuts. That’s basically it. You cut out all the other forms of carbs and stick to those. Heck, what else is there to eat really haha? That’s why I don’t consider it a true “diet.” Some people refer to it as the “caveman” diet, because that is what they used to eat back in the day. Animal meat, fruits, vegetables, and nuts. Now, we are all eating tons and tons of processed carbs everyday.

Since I am very serious about my training, I want each and every food I eat to have a PURPOSE. That purpose has to be performance based, or some way it’ll help me recover. All of the foods I have chosen fit in that category. A LARGE percentage of my diet before I started with this consisted of high protein, lots of fruit, and some nuts anyway. Although, I am just like every other american sometimes, I do eat some dumb carbs sometimes!

Anyway, wasn’t I meant to be on this diet? This so called “caveman diet?”

You can't tell me anyone else was better suited to be on the "caveman" diet than me...

I really believe this “cleaned” up diet is going to help me performance a lot. Although, I won’t be 100% Paleo. I am sure I will be about 95%. Because, they don’t allow some foods that I still believe in quite a bit (such as milk). But, I’ll give it a shot and see what happens in a few months!

The main reason I really believe it will work is because as an olympic weightlifter I don’t burn the # of calories as say a wrestler or something like that. I am trying to relax as much as possible between sessions as opposed to working some 8 hour labor job then go to train. Paleo Diet for Olympic Weightlifters…I’ll give it a shot!

4 Comments

  1. I remembered seeing this recently http://www.70sbig.com/blog/2011/03/why-you-need-carbs/ where Glenn said:

    On a similar note, I Socratically asked Pendlay, “Do any of your lifters eat paleo?” I knew what the answer was, and he said something like, “Are you fucking serious?”

    I’m just curious if you’ve talked to Glenn about it.

  2. HAha!!!!!! That is hilarious, Glenn even said today he was thinking of doing Paleo himself!!!

    No- I have not talked to Glenn about it. I feel very confident in my approach to the nutritional aspect of it. IT’s pretty much what I already eat anyway… Everything I eat has to have a purpose, whether for fuel/recovery/growth, etc. I mean, everything I eat for a REASON. What the h*ll else is there other than meat, fruits, veggies, greens, and nuts?? Nothing that is great for performance…Right? Are ya with me?

    LOL- that is not towards you… Just some rhetorical questions.

  3. I understand the idea, I’ve just tried going low carb a few times and it makes me miserable at work. I love oats in my breakfast shake and feel like if I don’t have some other carb source (rice or multigrain bread) I have no energy. I’m not a hater by any means, I just haven’t been able to get it to work for me the few times I’ve tried.

  4. Hello,

    My name is Kris Hago and I am inviting experts on the Paleo diet like yourself to participate in a special Paleo cookbook made up of recipes from the web’s best Paleo experts. It is very easy to participate and participation is completely free.

    To participate, simply provide up to three of your favorite Paleo recipes along with how you would like your name listed in the cookbook. If you could provide a photo of the finished recipe it will help spotlight your recipe, but pictures aren’t required to participate.

    While there isn’t monetary compensation for participation, you will receive credit for your recipes as well as a 3 line author bio that can contain a link to your website, facebook page or webpage of your choice. In addition to being listed in a book with other Paleo experts, participating can help you increase your audience and reach people that are specifically interested in a Paleo diet.

    Again, participation is completely without cost. You will never be asked to buy anything and you will not be put on any list.

    If you would like to participate please submit your recipes using the form found here:

    http://youranswerinabook.com/paleo-experts/

    I appreciate your time. If you have any questions please let me know.

    Thank you,
    Kris Hago


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Twitter

    • И от бедности есть польза 2 years ago
    • Эй, малый, пару коньяка... 2 years ago
    • над серебристым гребнем 2 years ago
    • Чтоб они в горах летали 2 years ago
    • Всего лишь некое сочетание увлеченности и беспристрастия. 2 years ago
  • Follow Jared on Facebook

  • Categories